Scrambled Tofu ‘Ranchero’

Image

This was my first attempt at a tofu brunch, and I was very happy with it! Here’s how I made it:

1) Tofu: I followed Isa Chandra Moskowitz’ Basic scrampbled tofu recipe and added broccoli. Click here to see her book Vegan Brunch:  Homestyle Recipes Worth Waking Up For. Click here to access the recipe on her website. It is slightly different, but just as good.

2) Pinto beans: Just sauté fresh tomatoes (~2-3 medium sized chopped) and onions (~1/4 cup chopped) on med-high heat in the oil of your choice (3-4 tablespoons) and add about a cup of cooked pinto beans. Add coriander and salt to taste.

3) Pico: I chopped up fresh tomatoes (~1 cup chopped), scallions/onions (~1/4 cup chopped), and cilantro (~1/4-1/3 cup chopped) and added a little lemon juice and salt.

Then I put it all together! At the bottom of my plate, I created a bed of leafy greens, and put the scrambled tofu on top. Layer two was the pinto beans. Layer three was the pico. Finally, I garnished the dish with slices of avocado and fresh ground pepper. If you care to add corn tortillas or corn chips, they would make a fine addition.

Remember that you can simply leave out the ingredients you are intollerant/allergic to.  I do this with most recipes, including Moskowitz’, and still enjoy tasty, healthy meals.

¡Buen provecho!

~ V ~

3 thoughts on “Scrambled Tofu ‘Ranchero’

Leave a Reply

